Vineyard of the Year

Vineyard of the Year Winners

2018 Tasmanian Vineyard of the Year Winner

Jansz Parish 

Judges were particularly impressed with the management, nutrition and disease control. 

A bit about the 2018 Vineyard of the Year…

  • Jansz Parish Vineyard at Penna in the Coal River Valley, has been awarded the Royal Agricultural Society of Tasmania 2018 Tasmanian Vineyard of the Year award.
  • With some 60 hectares under vines, the vineyard is the southern base for the production of quality grapes for Jansz Tasmania sparkling wines, Parish Vineyard Riesling and Dalrymple wines.
  • As well as being awarded Vineyard of the Year, Jansz Parish Vineyard won the Most Improved Category in a program which this year for the first time was partnered with Wine Tasmania’s best practice management program, VinØ
  • Originally established in 1999, the vineyard was acquired by the Hill-Smith Family in 2012, and has been expanded across a range of environments. It mainly grows Pinot Noir and Chardonnay.
  • According to the judges, Jansz Vigneron Jen Doyle has developed a very effective management program that focuses on achieving specific outcomes for the sub-vineyards across the various environments that range from lower flats to upper slopes on the adjoining high hillside known as Mt Lord.
  • Judges were impressed by a very carefully devised nutrition program which provides for a good canopy and replacement of nutrients removed with the varying crop loads. The carefully developed “low impact” disease and pest control programs have also achieved good results with quality fruit being hand harvested for Jansz Tasmania wines.
  • The weed control program provides for both herbicide application and mechanical forms of under vine vegetation removal with the use of innovative machinery.
  • The Tasmanian Vineyard of the Year is an initiative of the Royal Agricultural Society of Tasmania. It seeks to promote excellence in Tasmanian viticultural management as the foundation of quality wines.
  • The program is sponsored by Gravitas Energy in conjunction with Bennetts Petroleum, Geotas, Rabobank and Wine Tasmania. The judging panel comprised Paul Smart from Wine Tasmania, Fred Peacock representing the Tasmanian wine industry, Henry Dunbabin as last year’s winner and Frank Walker for the Royal Agricultural Society of Tasmania.
  • ‘We are thrilled by this acknowledgement and thank the Royal Agricultural Society of Tasmania for the award,” said Jen Doyle. “A lot of thought, planning and plain hard work by many people has gone into the vineyard and its expansion over the last six years.
  • “We are seeing the results in the quality of the grapes and hence the wines, and it is gratifying that this has been recognised by others as well. The Jansz Parish Vineyard and the environment around it is a special place, one we love and are proud of; we are looking forward to the field day when we can show others what we have been doing.’   

Each year, the winner of the Award holds a Field Day for the industry. This is a photo from the 2018 Industry Field Day.